PainSA is a chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain. Our mission is to improve all aspects of pain management in Southern Africa.

IASP’s Pain Community: March 2022


This month, IASP continues its planning to ensure the 2022 World Congress on Pain is the most dynamic and exciting to date. Whether you are returning to an in-person World Congress in Toronto, attending virtually, or if this is your first World Congress, we welcome you to participate in the largest gathering of pain professionals in the world.

IASP just announced the exciting list of plenary speakers and award lecturers for World Congress.

This year’s event will feature an exciting array of speakers and panels covering a diverse range of pain disciplines from the world’s top pain scientists and leaders.

Now is the time to submit your poster abstract and share your research with more than 7,000 multidisciplinary delegates from across the globe. Poster abstracts submitted by the early submission deadline of 11 March are automatically entered to receive one of ten free World Congress registrations. Additionally, the first 1,000 accepted submissions will win an IASP Press book of their choice from the IASP expo booth at World Congress. The final poster abstract submission deadline is 18 March.

If you are attending World Congress from a developing country or as a trainee, we encourage you to apply for financial aid. Selected financial aid recipients will receive free registration and financial support to help cover traveling expenses to Toronto from their home country. IASP has extended the application deadline to 18 March to accommodate more of our members.

I look forward to seeing all of you at World Congress in Toronto.

Claudia Sommer

World Congress Plenary Speakers and Award Lectures Announced
IASP’s World Congress will feature an exciting array of plenary speakers covering a diverse range of pain disciplines from the world’s top pain scientists and leaders, including:
Award Lectures
  • Luda Diatchenko, MD, PhD, McGill University, Canada, Ronald Melzack Award Lecture
  • Patrik Ernfors, PhD, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden, William D. Willis, Jr. Memorial Award Lecture
  • Rolf-Detlef Treede, MD, University of Heidelberg, Germany, John J. Bonica Award Lecture
  • Michael Nicholas, PhD, Royal North Shore Hospital, Australia, John D. Loeser Award Lecture
Plenary Lectures
  • Isaac Chiu, PhD, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Carmen Green, MD, City University of New York School of Medicine, USA
  • Thomas Graven-Nielsen, DMSc, PhD, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Ed Keogh, PhD, University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Michaela Kress, MD, PhD, Innsbruck Medical University, Austria
  • Rebecca Pillai Riddell, MA, PhD, Professor, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Maree Smith, PhD, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Irina Vetter, PhD, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Tor Wager, PhD, Dartmouth University, USA

Financial Aid Applications Due by 18 March
Submit your poster abstract by the early submission 11 March deadline, for a chance to win one (1) of ten (10) free World Congress registrations. Selected authors will have the opportunity to present their work to thousands of delegates at the preeminent global meeting to share the newest developments in pain. Final submission deadline: 18 March.

Submit Your Poster Abstract by 11 March for a Chance to Win a Free Registration
Those with limited resources are encouraged to submit a financial aid application to attend the World Congress by 18 March. IASP members from developing countries are invited to apply to receive free registration and financial support to offset travel expenses. Interested applicants are also encouraged to submit a poster abstract to the World Congress before completing the financial aid application.

Take Part in the World Congress T-shirt Design Contest
Show off your creative side and take part in the World Congress T-shirt Design Contest. The winning design will appear on limited edition t-shirts sold at the IASP booth in the Exhibit Hall, and the selected artist will receive a free registration to the 2022 World Congress on Pain in Toronto. Submissions should be received by 31 March.

Registration and Housing for World Congress are Open
Register and book your housing to attend the World Congress in Toronto. World Congress will bring together pain professionals to enhance your professional skills and knowledge about the latest innovations in pain research. IASP members receive up to $496 off registration.

Alison Teitelbaum Joins IASP as Chief Operations Officer
IASP welcomes Alison Teitelbaum, MS, MPH, CAE, IASP’s new Chief Operations Officer. Alison is an association executive and public health communications and strategy specialist with more than 15 years of experience. Teitelbaum received undergraduate degrees in Biology and Psychology from Virginia Tech, a Master of Psychology from Radford University, and a Master of Public Health, Health Communications and Marketing, from George Washington University. She also holds the Certified Association (CAE) credential from the American Society of Association Executives.

Kirsty Bannister is the Patrick D. Wall Young Investigator Prize for Basic Science Recipient
Dr. Kirsty Bannister is recognized for her research working to bridge the gap between bench and bedside along with her research team at the Central Modulation of Pain Laboratory that works to define descending control pathways in animals and humans.

Lauren Heathcote is the Ulf Lindblom Young Investigator Prize for Clinical Science Prize Recipient
Dr. Heathcote is recognized for her early work developing novel experimental and self-report tools to define the cognitive and affective mechanisms that drive pain perception as threatening.
Dr. Heathcote and Dr. Bannister will also present their research at the 2022 World Congress on Pain.