PainSA is a chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain. Our mission is to improve all aspects of pain management in Southern Africa.

Feedback Wanted: IASP New Proposed Definition of Pain

iasp logo

The IASP Definition of Pain Task Force has just released a new proposed definition of pain and is seeking public comments. As a valuable member of the pain community, you’re invited to submit written feedback for consideration by the Task Force.

The proposed new definition of pain is the result of careful discussion, review, and participation from all Task Force members along with feedback from the IASP Council. Your additional comments will help inform further discussions around the finalization of the definition.


Read the Current and New Proposed Definitions of Pain

The comment period is open now through 11 September 2019 at 11:59 ET (UTC/GMT -4). Only one comment per person, please.

The IASP Task Force will review all comments and provide a summary and final recommendation to the IASP Council in November 2019.

Submit Your Comments

Your comments will help contribute to changes that will have a significant impact on the future of our profession, research, and patient care. We look forward to your feedback.


The IASP Definition of Pain Task Force

Chair:  Srinivasa Raja, MD (USA)
Dan Carr, MD (USA)
Milton Cohen, MD (Australia)
Nanna Finnerup, MD (Denmark)
Herta Flor, PhD (Germany)
Stephen Gibson, PhD (Australia)
Francis Keefe, PhD (USA)
Jeffrey Mogil, PhD (Canada)
Matthias Ringkamp, MD (USA)
Kathleen Sluka, PT, PhD (USA)
Xue-Jun Song, MD, PhD (China)
Bonnie Stevens, RN, PhD (Canada)
Mark D. Sullivan, MD, PhD (USA)
Takahiro Ushida, MD, PhD (Japan)