Cape Town Pain Academy Speaker Highlights
By October 23, 2017 16:16

Cape Town Pain Academy Speaker Highlights

Speaker Outline:

Dr Tory Madden is a research fellow in the Pain Management Unit at the University of Cape Town.  Her research focuses on the mechanisms behind the persistence of pain after tissue healing.


Dr Sean Chetty is a Specialist Anaesthesiologist and is currently the Deputy Head of the Department of Anaesthesiology & Critical Care at the Tygerberg hospital and the Stellenbosch University.


Dr Latifa Firfiray attained her undergraduate degree at the University of Cape Town and completed her specialist training at the University of Stellenbosch and Tygerberg Academic Hospital.

Dr Kerry-Ann Louw is a consultant psychiatrist and senior lecturer at Stellenbosch University. She currently runs consultation-liaison psychiatry services at Tygerberg Hospital.

Dr Toni Wadley is a Lecturer in the School of Physiology at Wits. Her research focus is HIV-related pain and she is currently investigating how psychosocial factors affect the experience of pain in HIV.


Dr Murray McDonald is a chiropractor in private practice. He is also currently completing a post-graduate diploma in Interdisciplinary Pain Management through UCT.


Dr Suzette Oelofse is a general practitioner, currently employed by the University of Cape Town as the deputy head of the Clinical Trials Unit at the Lung Infection and Immunity Unit.


Dr Janieke van Nugteren is a Specialist Anaesthetist in the Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine at University of Cape Town. She runs the Chronic Pain Management Unit at Groote Schuur Hospital.


Topic Highlights  

• From acute to chronic pain  

• Ethics – The many faces of Pain  

• Interventional procedures for cancer pain  

• Chronic pain and mood disorders

• HIV associated pain  

• The evidence behind dry needling  

• Taking a relevant pain history – tips for the General Practitioner  

• When to refer your chronic pain patient


For more information

Janice Candlish

T:  +27 11 894 1278




To register, click here.

To view the online programme, click here.
By October 23, 2017 16:16

Log In